Edward J. Chandler, P.A.
A professional Association
Attorney & Counselor At Law
708 East Atlantic Boulevard Telephone: (954) 788-1355
Pompano Beach, Fl 33060 Facsimile: (954) 788-1357
Call Today! 24/7
Visit our web site: www.chandler-law.com
"Serving Broward, Dade and Palm Beach County"
In addition to personally handling your case, Edward J. Chandler, Esq. will be available to you during every step of the process. Edward J. Chandler guarantees that you and your case will receive his undivided attention.
Call the Law Offices of Edward J. Chandler, P.A. at (954) 788-1355 - Your phone consultation is free and completely confidential.
DUI Drivers License Suspensions in Florida
As a result of your DUI arrest, your Driver License is subject to two separate suspensions and it is important that you know the difference between each type of suspension. * The first is known as an Administrative Suspension. * The second is known as a Criminal Suspension.
Most importantly, it is imperative that you are aware of Florida's Ten Day Rule regarding your right to fight the Administrative Suspension. Administrative Suspension
The first Driver License suspension you are subject to is known as an Administrative Suspension.
This suspension is imposed if, after your DUI arrest, you either
1. Refused to submit to a breath, urine or blood test, or
2. Submitted to a breath, urine or blood test and your blood alcohol level was found to be .08 or higher.
If you refused to submit to a BAC/BAL test, or if your BAC/BAL was over .08 your Driver License will be suspended for either 6 months, 1 year, or 18 months from the date of your arrest. If your license if suspended for either reason, you will be issued a temporary driving permit that expires at midnight on the 10th day following the date of your arrest.
Florida's Ten Day Rule You only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to request a formal review hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles to contest the Administrative License Suspension and attempt to get your license back. If you fail to request the hearing with the 10-day period, your license will be suspended for either 6 months, 1 year, or 18 months depending on the circumstances. It is important to contact me within the 10-day period.
If a formal review hearing is requested within the mandatory 10 days of your arrest, you will be issued a temporary license that is good until seven days after the hearing. The hearing will be set approximately 30 days after your arrest. At midnight of the 7th day after the hearing, however, until we either receive notice that we won, or if the suspension is upheld, your license is suspended. Otherwise, you only have 10 days to drive after you are arrested using your citation as a driving permit.
Obtaining a Hardship Driver License
If attorney Chandler is unable to successfully challenge the administrative suspension, you may still be eligible for a hardship license. To be eligible for a hardship license you must: (1) enroll in a DUI School, (2) serve the first 90 days of your one year of the administrative suspension, and (3) provide proof of enrollment in a DUI school to your local DHSMV Administrative Review Office. The review office will then process your hardship license application. If the review office gives you approval to reinstate your license early for hardship purposes, you must then present this approval to your local driver license office. Finally, you must complete the DUI school within 90 days of being given the hardship license. Failure to complete the DUI school will result in cancellation of your hardship license until the DUI school is completed.
At the time of your license reinstatement you must take the required examination, and pay an administrative fee and a reinstatement fee and any license fee required. Additionally, proof of liability insurance on the arrest date, proof of current liability coverage, and a reinstatement fee will be required.
As previously mentioned, there are two suspensions involved with a DUI charge, the administrative suspension and the Criminal Suspension. Unfortunately, if you are eventually convicted of DUI, another mandatory 6 or 12 month suspension begins on the date of conviction and the judge will suspend your hardship license.
Therefore, if there is a strong possibility of a DUI conviction, it may not be worthwhile get your hardship license until the Criminal Suspension has been imposed. Otherwise, you would then have to pay another fee to reinstate your hardship license. However, you would not be required to re-enroll in the DUI school. Nevertheless, if you eventually beat the DUI, your license will not be suspended a second time and you will only have to complete the administrative suspension.
Criminal Suspension Periods
Depending on the degree of DUI you are charged with, the following criminal suspension periods would be imposed if eventually convicted. After that are the eligibility requirements for a hardship license if your were to experience a Criminal Suspension.
1. First Conviction: Minimum 180 days revocation, maximum 1 year.
2. Second Conviction Within 5 Years: Minimum 5 years revocation. May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 1 year. Other 2nd offenders same as "A" above.
3. Third Conviction Within 10 Years: Minimum 10 years revocation. May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 2 years. Other 3rd offenders same as "A" above; one conviction more than 10 years prior and one within 5 years, same as "B" above.
4. Fourth Conviction, Regardless of When Prior Convictions Occurred) and Murder with Motor Vehicle: Mandatory permanent revocation. No hardship reinstatement.
5. DUI Manslaughter: Mandatory permanent revocation. If no prior DUI related convictions, may be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 5 years.
6. Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide Convictions: Minimum 3 year revocation. DUI Serious Bodily Injury having prior DUI conviction is same as "B-D" above.
Eligibility for Hardship License
Depending on the degree of DUI you were convicted of, the following requirements must be met in order to be eligible for a hardship license following a criminal suspension.
* First Conviction: Must complete DUI school, apply to department for hearing for possible hardship reinstatement. Mandatory ignition interlock device for six months for BAL of .20 or higher, effective 07/03.
* Second Convictions (or more): No hardship license except as provided below. Mandatory ignition interlock device for one year, effective 07/03.
* Second Conviction Within 5 Years: (5 Year Revocation) May apply for hardship reinstatement hearing after one year. Must complete DUI school and remain in the DUI supervision program for the remainder of the revocation period (failure to report for counseling or treatment shall result in cancellation of the hardship license). Applicant may not have consumed any alcoholic beverage or controlled substance or driven a motor vehicle for 12 months prior to reinstatement.
* Third Conviction Within 10 Years: (10 Year Revocation) May apply for hardship reinstatement hearing after two years. Must complete DUI school and remain in the DUI supervision program for the remainder of the revocation period (failure to report for counseling or treatment shall result in the cancellation of the hardship license). Applicant may not have consumed any alcoholic beverage or controlled substance or driven a motor vehicle for 12 months prior to reinstatement. Mandatory ignition interlock device for two years, effective 07/03.
* DUI Manslaughter With No Prior DUI Related Conviction: (Permanent Revocation): May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 5 years have expired from date of revocation or expired from date of term of incarceration provided the following requirements have been met: (1) Has not been arrested for a drug-related offense for at least 5 years prior to the hearing; (2) Has not driven a motor vehicle without a license for at least 5 years prior to the hearing; (3) Has been alcohol and drug-free for at least 5 years prior to the hearing; and (4) Must complete a DUI school and must be supervised under the DUI program for the remainder of the revocation period (failure to report for counseling or treatment shall result in cancellation of the hardship license).
* Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide Convictions: (3 Year Revocation): May immediately apply for hardship reinstatement hearing. Must complete DUI school or advanced driver improvement course.
The specific and most current DUI penalties may be found in Section 316.193, Florida Statutes.
CALL ATTORNEY CHANDLER TODAY (954) 788-1355